World Match Racing Tour Even Bigger

Screen_shot_2015-03-26_at_16.43.10The world’s longest running professional sailing series – the ISAF sanctioned World Match Racing Tour – has announced an expanded sixteen event schedule for the 2015/16 world championship.

For the first time since the World Tour was founded in 2000, the series will award championship points to all events on the schedule divided into two categories – World Tour Events and World Championship Events. Skippers will count their highest five results towards the World Championship title.

Five-time ISAF Match Racing World Champion Ian Williams (GBR) will again be defending his title at the World Championship event curtain raiser for the 2015/16 Tour in Long Beach, California from 13-17 May at the 51st Congressional Cup.

Re-joining the World Match Racing Tour after more than ten years, the Congressional Cup has been an innovator in the game of match racing since 1965, introducing the concept of on-water umpiring in 1988.

After the opening event in Long Beach, the World Tour moves to Europe for events in Germany, Poland, Sweden and Holland before heading back across the Atlantic in October for the 68th edition of the Argo Group Gold Cup in Bermuda. The Monsoon Cup in Malaysia will play host to the World Championship Finals in late January 2016 in Johor Bahru on the Southern coast of Malaysia.2015/16 World Match Racing Tour Calendar

Ficker Cup, Long Beach, United States, 8 – 10 May 2015
Volvo Spring Cup, Langedrag, Sweden, 9 – 10 May 2015
Congressional Cup, Long Beach, United States, 13 – 17 May 2015
Match Race Germany, Langenargen, Germany, 21 – 25 May 2015
Szezecin Match Race, Szczecin, Poland, 29 – 31 May 2015
Stena Match Cup Sweden, Marstrand, Sweden, 29 June – 4 July 2015
Dziwnow Match Race, Dziwnow, Poland, 17 – 19 July 2015
Sopot Match Race, Sopot, Poland, 29 July – 1 August 2015
Knickerbocker Cup, New York, United States, 5 – 9 August 2015
Dutch Match Cup Qualifier, Lelystad, Netherlands, 21 – 23 August 2015
Bermuda National Match Racing Championship, Hamilton, Bermuda, 18 – 20 September 2015
Dutch Match Cup, Lelystad, Netherlands 23 – 27 September 2015
Argo Group Gold Cup, Hamilton, Bermuda 6 – 11 October 2015
Monsoon Cup Terengganu, Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia, 20 – 22 November 2015 (TBA)
Liga Layar Malaysia, Johor Bahru, Malaysia 18 – 20 December 2015 (TBA)
Monsoon Cup, Malaysia, 26 – 30 January 2016

Image: Robert Hajduk – AWMRT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


eighteen + 18 =